God’s Whispers to the Afflicted

pexels-photo-286625

I saw you when you dropped to the bathroom floor, your lower lip trembling, your knees giving way to the weight of emotion that had overcome you. I tried to embrace you, but you could not feel me beneath that impenetrable wall you’d built up around yourself. I was there though, holding you as tightly as I could, wishing with all my soul that you would allow me to piece you back together again.

Why wouldn’t you let me comfort you, my darling? Why wouldn’t you trust me with it? It is not yours to carry, and I would never have wanted you to burden yourself with this. Yes, I know you are strong – who do you think made you that way, my dear? But, hand it back over to me now. I am here, my angel. Always have been.

It is killing me to watch you hurt like this. I cannot override your free will. I cannot force my love upon you. You need to call out to me, my dearest daughter. You need to relinquish control and let me guide you. Go back to the days of your youth when you grabbed your father’s hand and carelessly allowed him to guide you back home safely. As a young child, on any given outing, you had no conception of exactly how far home was, did you? Nor did you have any idea of what the journey ahead of you would look like. But, did you ever once doubt that your father would get you home safely? Let me get you home, my beloved. I know the route, and I know how far it is. Trust me. I will get you there safely, I promise.

Yes, the ride might get bumpy at times, and monotonous at others, but does not any good father come prepared? When you become hungry, ask and I will feed you. When you become weary, ask and I will slow the journey down to let you sleep. When you become thirsty, I will give you something to drink – but, I might decide it best not to give you what you desire when I know we’ve still got some distance to cover before we make it to the nearest rest stop. Sometimes you don’t know that what you’re asking for will only bring you pain in the long run. That’s why it’s best to leave me in control, because I am in control – totally and completely. So no backseat driving, okay?

Do you trust me yet, my darling? Are you ready to let my embrace you and carry your burden for you? Come child, wipe your eyes. The time for crying is over. We’re nearly home now. Sit back. Enjoy the ride …

Leave a comment